Sandbox is a multipurpose HTML5 template with various layouts which will be a great solution for your business.

Contact Info

Moonshine St. 14/05
Light City, London
00 (123) 456 78 90

Follow Us

Ranchi Jesuit Mission Chronology?

1858: Proclamation of Queen Victoria: India comes under the Crown.
1859: First Belgian Jesuits arrive in India to work in Calcutta. Belgian Fr Peter Jan Beckx is the Superior General of the Society of Jesus
1860: Hazaribag Parish
1864: Mgr Van Heule becomes vicar apostolic of Bengal. The Belgian Jesuits extend their activities to the whole Bengal Vicariate.
1868: November 24, Fr Augustus Stockman makes his first visit to Chaibasa to check the possibility of starting a mission among the Adivasis.
1869: July 10, Fr. Augustus Stockman, the first Jesuit to arrive in Chota Nagpur (Chaibasa) St Xavier’s Chaibasa is born but is closed between 1909-1932
1873: First Munda converts (28) at Khuntpani
1873: Kochang
1874: Most of the Munda converts moved to Burudi – Kochang belt, Ranchi district
1881: Immaculate Conception Parish, Sarwada
1882: Bandgaon Mission (closed between 1895-1949) Singhbhum district
1885: Fr Constant Lievens arrives in Chotanagpur, Torpa becomes the centre of his activity.
1886: Establishment of the Hierarchy in India. The Apostolic Vicariate of Bengal comprising the actual Ranchi, Hazaribagh and Palamau districts, is erected by Decree of Pope Leo XIII into the Archdiocese of Calcutta.
1886: April 14, Fr De Cock stayed at a Christian family in Kudarkho
1887: St Peter’s/St John’s High School & Hostel, Ranchi
[1887-1886] Sacred Heart Parish, Kochang
1888: Catholic Church, Dorma
1888: Fr. Lievens establishes himself at Manresa House, Ranchi, which becomes the centre of the Chota Nagpur Mission.
1888: St Joseph’s Parish, Karra
1888: St Anne’s Parish, Konbir Noatoli (shifted to Konbir Noatoli from Tetra in 1889)
1889: Manresa House, Ranchi
1889: St Anne’s Church, Konbir Noatoli
1889: Catholic Mission, Lohardaga (parish is declared in 1913)
1890: Temporary Residence at Mandar
1891: St Michael Parish and Residence, Khunti
1891: Chakradharpur Mission (no resident priest
1893: Death of Fr. Lievens at Leuven (Belgium) on November 7, 1893.
1893: Immaculate Conception Church (Dec 8), Katkahi. (in 1892 a school in Chichuani)
1896: St Joseph’s Parish and Residence, Mahuadanr
1897: St Aloysius Parish, Mandar
1901: St Anthony Parish (May 1), Residence & School, Rengarih
1901: St Ignatius Church (May 1), Parish & Residence, Soso

For complete set of chronology please do read the edited book, "Ranchi Mission among the adivasis of Chotanagpur". The book is recentely published book available at Satya Bharti.